Arab Strap
Malmo 2006 [no label, 1CD],

Live at Kulturbolaget, Malmo, Sweden, February 6, 2006

The year 1998 was the watermark year for post-folk indie band Arab Strap. The Scottish group’s second album, Philophobia, was lauded all over (it was also voted BigO’s Album of the Year). But over time, the inward-looking honest lyrics, slow and sombre music – even if it is electrified – and that hint of sexual naughtiness (after all the arab strap is sex device/aid) are just not enough and the group on Sept 9, 2006, has decided to call it a day. One can assume that morosity can only go so far before things become repetitive.

Thanks to urbmannen who shared these tracks which are taken from Swedish FM. Featuring songs mostly from the group’s last two albums, Monday At The Hug And Pint (2003) and Last Romance (2005), the sound is excellent, Aidan Moffat’s vocals are deadpan and here’s a chance to relive those naval-gazing days again.

1. Intro – Announcer
2. Fucking Little Bastards
3. Don’t Ask Me To Dance
4. Speed Date
5. Dream Sequence
6. Pyjamas
7. Who Named The Days?
8. The Girl I Loved Before I Fucked
9. New Birds
10. (If There’s) No Hope For Us
11. Screaming In The Trees
12. There Is No Ending
13. Packs Of Three
14. Outro – Announcer

Click here to download the tracks.

Please feel free to add your comments.