Pines Theater 2006 [no label, 1CD]

Live at Pines Theater, Florence, Massachusetts, July 16, 2006

The Autumn Defense started as a side project for John Stirratt (of Wilco and Uncle Tupelo) and Pat Sansone (who has worked with Josh Rouse). The duo released their debut album, The Green Hour, in 2001. Since the release of Circles in 2003, Sansone has become part of Wilco and on January 16, 2007, released their self-titled third album.

In spite of the false start to their set – perhaps the duo were beginning to get warmed up to the songs for the new album – this Florence gig sounds intimate and is melodically soothing. Also bear in mind that the two had to fill in for Wilco (“apparently the M’s got held up at the border,” posted bbop at With a supportive crowd and a laidback groove, The Autumn Defense will not conquer the world but the crowd can walk away with a jangly good time. Some call them Bread-like but it sure sounds like the softer side of Loggins and Messina.

Thanks to upload who seeded this at the Dime site and to bbop for providing the rough set list.

1. introduction/false start of first song
2. new song-Magnificent Is Your Common Sense
(first line of song, probably not title)
3. Silence
4. The Sun In California
5. Written In the Snow
6. new song-The City Bells
(with Glenn Kotche, Nels Cline Jeff Tweedy and Mikael Jorgensen on percussion)
7. The Answer
8. Tuesday Morning
9. new song-How Wonderful You Ar
(not sure if this is the actual title)
10. The World (Will Soon Turn Our Way)

Click here to download the tracks.

Please feel free to add your comments.